Skip to content

Sasquatch illustration featured on Royal Canadian Mint coin

May 18, 2011

The Royal Canadian Mint recently released a 25-cent colored collectable coin featuring my illustration of a Sasquatch. This coin is first in a series of three Mythical Creatures designs geared toward kids.

photo of the Sasquatch coin

You can also see it at their website here. As a natural science illustrator I never expected to be asked to draw a Sasquatch, but I found it to be an engaging assignment and not all that different from reconstructing fossil life based on limited clues.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. May 21, 2011 2:12 am

    Mythical creatures! What fun coins! I love the design here, the perspective is really neat.

  2. Sarah S permalink
    May 25, 2011 5:08 pm

    Hi Emily!
    I like Bigfoot and I like your coin. Do you know how to draw the Abominable Snowman? That would be neat on a coin too!
    Thomas (5 years)

    • May 25, 2011 5:13 pm

      Thanks Thomas. I have never drawn an Abominable Snowman so I would have to do some research first! I agree, that would be a good character for a coin.

Trackbacks

  1. New coin designs! Circulating Loonie, Collector edition Loonie, Collector edition Toonie. « News from the Studio

Leave a comment