Skip to content

Science illustrations as tattoos

September 13, 2011

Over the years I’ve been contacted by a few different people interested in licensing one of my illustrations for a tattoo. Most recently, John Conn, an Air Traffic Controller for the United States Air Force, wanted to incorporate my illustration of a timber rattlesnake into his “Don’t Tread on Me” tattoo (on his calf).

John Conn's "Don't Tread on Me" tattoo

yellow phase, Crotalus horridus horridus © Emily S. Damstra

Several years ago, a woman licensed my pen-and-ink blastoid illustration for an arm tattoo. Kat Marie Moya inked the tattoo.

fossil blastoid illustration as tattoo

Mississippian-age blastoid Pentremites godoni © Emily S. Damstra

It makes me happy when folks like my illustrations enough to wear one on their skin!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. John permalink
    September 17, 2011 7:54 pm

    You are a very talented artist Emily. I’ve actually told a few of my friends about your website after they remarked how much they like the tattoo. Thanks again!

  2. September 18, 2011 6:06 pm

    Submit them to Carl Zimmer’s Science Tattoo Emporium!

    • September 19, 2011 7:57 pm

      Great suggestion, Glendon; thanks. I’ve been to that website before and had fun browsing.

Leave a Reply

